Goldco is a precious metals IRA company that lists IRA rollovers as a specialty and offers a free investment kit to new prospects.
Goldco is listed on this site with an A+ BBB rating and a $25,000 minimum. Treat both as figures to confirm yourself on bbb.org and with the company before you fund an account.
Goldco's listed features include IRA rollover specialists and a free investment kit, and its pros mention an easy rollover process. Most people who contact a gold IRA company are not buying metal with new cash. They are moving money that already sits in a 401(k), 403(b), TSP or another IRA, so the mechanics of the move matter more than the sales material.
There are three ways to fund a gold IRA. A direct transfer moves money from one IRA custodian to another and you never touch it. A direct rollover sends a workplace plan balance straight to the new custodian. An indirect rollover pays you first and gives you 60 days to deposit the full amount, which is the riskiest route because a missed deadline makes the money taxable and, under age 59 and a half, adds a 10% penalty.
Goldco lists a $25,000 minimum, which sits in the middle of the group: above Birch Gold Group and American Hartford Gold at $10,000 and Noble Gold at $20,000, below Augusta Precious Metals at $50,000. Its rating here is 4.6, the same as Birch Gold Group and Noble Gold, and its label is Most Trusted. Because three companies share the same rating, the rating alone will not separate them. Fees, buyback terms and the service you get on a first call will.
| Company | Minimum | Rating | Site label |
|---|---|---|---|
| Augusta Precious Metals | $50,000 | 5/5 | Editor's Choice |
| Goldco | $25,000 | 4.6/5 | Most Trusted |
| Birch Gold Group | $10,000 | 4.6/5 | Lowest Minimum |
| Noble Gold | $20,000 | 4.6/5 | Best for Beginners |
| American Hartford Gold | $10,000 | 4.5/5 | Best Buyback |
The first listed con for Goldco is that fees are not disclosed upfront. That is not unusual in this industry, but it means the price is something you have to request. Ask for the fee schedule in writing and read it before you sign anything. The home page guide gives general ranges so you can tell whether a number is ordinary: setup of $50 to $100, custodian fees of $80 to $300 a year, storage of $100 to $150 commingled or $150 to $250 segregated, and a dealer premium of 2% to 8% over spot.
Most Trusted is a label this site applies. It summarizes the editorial view that Goldco has a strong industry reputation and excellent customer reviews, which are the first two pros listed. It is not a guarantee, and it is not an independent audit. The same BBB letter, A+, is listed for all five companies on this site, so it does not rank them against each other.
Do your own check. Read the BBB profile and the complaint details, look for consumer alerts under the company name from state regulators or the Federal Trade Commission, and note how the representative handles a direct question about fees. A company that is comfortable answering in writing is easier to trust than one that prefers to talk by phone.
Ask for a written fee schedule that covers setup, the annual custodian charge, storage and insurance, and the premium over spot on the exact products you plan to buy. Keep it with your account records and compare it with a second company.
A direct rollover from a workplace plan to a gold IRA custodian is not a taxable event when it is done correctly. An indirect rollover is risky because missing the 60-day window makes the money taxable and may add a 10% penalty if you are under 59 and a half.
No. A kit is educational material. It does not list the charges that apply to your account, so request the fee schedule separately and read the account agreement before you fund.
Goldco, Birch Gold Group and Noble Gold all show a 4.6 rating on this site. The rating is an editorial score, so use it only as a starting point and compare fees, minimums and buyback terms directly.
Goldco is a reasonable name to put on a shortlist if you are rolling over an old employer plan and have $25,000 or more. The listed concern is that fees are not disclosed upfront, so the deciding step is not the Most Trusted label but whether Goldco puts a complete fee schedule in writing before you commit. If it does, compare it line by line with the other four. If it will not, that answers the question.